Skip to product information
1 of 10

Cartier Tank “Wood” - Full Set

Cartier Tank “Wood” - Full Set

Regular price 5.100 EUR
Regular price Sale price 5.100 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

(Contact us to buy a watch via bank wire)

Our take

English version available. Please switch to English in the menu or at the bottom of this page.

When Cartier breaks free from codes

Description

It's no longer a secret that Maison Cartier's creations are far from conventional. Did you think you had seen everything at Cartier? You will always be surprised. If shaped watches are their specialty, the use of various materials is just as much.

This Tank, a rare piece produced between 1975 and 1976, is considered to precede the Must collection. We find it under the name Tank “Bois” but also as the Cartier Palissandre de Rio Wood or Cartier La Nature .

Except for the shape, this piece moves away from the traditional codes of the Tank. The materials and dial are completely revisited. The wood, which has not been affected by time, interacts with the gold plating and gives a very beautiful contrast to the watch. Echoing this, the crown is adorned with a black cabochon. The dial is also exceptional: on a wooden background there are directly applied golden Roman numerals.

The watch hides a mechanical movement inside manual winding.

To complete it all, this “wooden” Tank is sold with its Cartier gold-plated buckle, its original box and papers. What more?

Why did Françoise choose it?

Françoise loves the Tank and its various variations that have emerged over the years. How can we miss this treasure of history and design? A rare watch, a collectors watch, an exceptional watch for its condition.

It is typical of the eclectic production of the Cartier workshops in New York. You won't come across it often...

History

It was in 1917 that the Tank watch, known as the Tank Normale, appeared; in honor of the heroes of the First World War, its design is inspired by the first assault tanks. Five years later, the Tank Louis Cartier was imagined, a model very similar to the first but whose dial is more elongated and the stretchers are thinner and rounded. Several generations follow one another, retaining the same identity codes while adapting to new watchmaking technologies such as quartz.

Dimensions

Dimensions: 25.3 x 33.7 mm
Thickness: 7mm

Material

Gold-plated and wood case. Lizard leather strap. Yellow gold-plated Cartier pin buckle. With box and papers.

Usage instructions

Watch with mechanical movement by manual winding every day.
Movement revised and guaranteed for 1 year (keep away from heat and humidity).

Shipping

Free shipping worldwide for any purchase over 100 euros after receipt of payment.
Possible customs fees and taxes depending on your country at your expense.
Hand-in for Paris possible after receipt of funds.

Return and Refund Policy

Despite the photos and the description, which we hope are as accurate as possible, we know that the relationship to a jewel or a watch is above all physical. This is why we offer a possible return for 15 days, no question asked.
The watch needs to be in the same mechanical and aesthetic condition it was sent in. Reimbursement within 5 days of receipt of the watch.

View full details

Passer aux informations produits
1 de 10

Cartier Tank « Bois » - Full Set

Cartier Tank « Bois » - Full Set

Prix habituel 5.100 EUR
Prix habituel Prix soldé 5.100 EUR
Vente Vendue
Taxes incluses. Frais d'expédition calculés à l'étape de paiement.

(Nous contacter par email pour acheter une montre par virement direct)

Our take (in English)

English version available. Please switch to English in the menu or at the bottom of this page.

Quand Cartier s'affranchi des codes

Description

Ce n'est plus un secret, les créations de la Maison Cartier sont loin d'être conventionnelles. Vous pensiez avoir tout vu chez Cartier ? Vous serez toujours surpris. Si les montres de forme sont leur spécialité, l'usage de matériaux divers l'est tout autant. 

Cette Tank, pièce rare produite entre 1975 et 1976, est considérée comme précédant la collection Must. On la retrouve sous le nom de Tank "Bois" mais aussi comme la Cartier Palissandre de Rio Wood ou Cartier La Nature.

Exceptée la forme, cette pièce s'éloigne des codes traditionnels de la Tank. Les matériaux et le cadran sont totalement revisités. Le bois, qui n'a pas été touché par le temps, dialogue avec le plaqué or et donne un très beau contraste à la montre. En écho, la couronne est ornée d’un cabochon noir. Le cadran est lui aussi exceptionnel : sur un fond en bois sont appliqués des chiffres romains dorés. 

La montre cache un mouvement mécanique à remontage manuel.

Pour parfaire le tout, cette Tank "bois" est vendue avec sa boucle plaquée or Cartier, sa boîte et ses papiers d'origine. Que demander de plus ?

Pourquoi Françoise l’a-t-elle choisie ?

Françoise aime la Tank et ses diverses déclinaisons qui ont vu le jour aux cours des années. Comment passer à côté de ce trésor d'histoire et de design ? Une montre rare, une montre de collectionneurs, une montre exceptionnelle par son état. 

Elle est typique de la production éclectique des ateliers Cartier à New York. Vous ne la croiserez pas souvent...

Histoire

C’est en 1917 qu’apparaît la montre Tank, dite Tank Normale. En l’honneur des héros de la Première Guerre mondiale, son design est inspiré des premiers chars d’assaut. Cinq ans plus tard est imaginée la Tank Louis Cartier, un modèle fort similaire au premier mais dont le cadran est plus allongé et les brancards sont plus fins et arrondis. Plusieurs générations se succèdent, conservant les mêmes codes identitaires tout en s’adaptant aux nouvelles technologies horlogères comme le quartz. 

La collection "Must de Cartier" a été lancée en 1973 par Robert Hocq et Alain-Dominique Perrin, nommé Directeur Général de cette nouvelle entité. Après les briquets, les stylos ou encore la maroquinerie, c'est au tour de la montre Must de faire son apparition en 1976/77. La Tank en vermeil est la première à faire son entrée avec la mention "Must de Cartier " et les deux "C" sur le cadran. Bien que les premiers modèles aient été fabriqués avec un mouvement manuel, le quartz s'impose rapidement sur ces montres quotidiennes et faciles à porter. 

Dimensions

Dimensions : 25,3 x 33,7 mm
Épaisseur : 7 mm

Matériaux

Boîtier plaqué or et bois. Bracelet cuir en lézard. Boucle ardillon Cartier plaquée or jaune. Boîte et papiers.

Conseils d'utilisation

Montre à mouvement mécanique par remontage manuel tous les jours.
Mouvement révisé et garanti 1 an (à garder à l'abri de la chaleur et de l'humidité).

Envoi

Envoi gratuit dans le monde entier pour tout achat supérieur à 100 euros après réception du paiement.
Eventuels frais de douane et taxes en fonction du lieu de livraison des montres à votre charge.
Réception en main propre pour Paris possible après réception des fonds.

Politique de retour et remboursement

Malgré les photos et le descriptif qu’on espère les plus fidèles possible, nous savons que la relation à un bijou, une montre, est avant tout physique.
C’est pourquoi nous offrons un retour possible pendant 15 jours, no question asked, avec remboursement dans les 5 jours suivants la réception de la montre.
Il faut néanmoins que la montre soit dans un état esthétique et mécanique semblable à celui de son envoi.

Afficher tous les détails