Skip to product information
1 of 10

Cartier Tortue - Full Gold

Cartier Tortue - Full Gold

Regular price 8.500 EUR
Regular price Sale price 8.500 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

(Contact us to buy a watch via bank wire)

Our take

English version available. Please switch to English in the menu or at the bottom of this page.

The forgotten ancestor

Description

Let's start with a straight case, for example that of the Santos. Then, let's round the corners, add femininity... Not too much, until you get to a Baignoire. Let's stay in a refined in-between, neither too feminine nor too masculine, perfectly Cartier. This is the equation that Louis Cartier undoubtedly tried to solve in 1912, the year the Tortue and the Baignoire were released.

The Cartier's codes are perfectly respected: the railway minutes scale, the black Roman numerals, the blued hands and the sapphire cabochon.

Slightly thicker than the rest of the "classic" selection at Cartier, its contained diameter nevertheless maintains it within standards of discretion. The “grain-de-riz” bracelet gives all the charm to this Cartier Tortue. The precious watch that you wear almost like a piece of jewelry, very comfortable with its folding clasp. The Cartier Tortue is rare, even more so with its all-gold bracelet.

Why did Françoise choose it?

The Tortue is an emblematic Cartier model, one of the first 3 wristwatches designed by the House. It has the record for longevity in the Cartier collection, since it has almost never been taken out, the last model having been unveiled during the Watches and Wonders 2024 event. And yet, Françoise finds it "forgotten" by most collectors. She particularly likes the in-between of her design: between the severity of a Tank, and the femininity of a Cartier Baignoire.

History

The Santos Dumont in 1907 was the first Cartier wristwatch, a small revolution for watchmaking. In 1912, the Tortue, inspired by the animal of the same name (turtle), and the Baignoire came out of the Cartier workshops in Paris. Hold on tight, we are before the release of the first Tank (Tank Normale) in 1917! The Tortue enjoyed a new hour of glory in the 1930s, when it housed more complex movements (such as a monopusher chronograph or a minute repeater). Almost never discontinued, it is undoubtedly the Cartier model with the greatest longevity.

Dimensions

Dimensions (with horns): 22.8 x 30.5 mm
Thickness: 5.5 mm
Wrist circumference (approximate): 14 cm

Material

Case and “Grain-de-riz” bracelet in 18-carat yellow gold.

Usage instructions

Mechanical movement, serviced and guaranteed for 1 year. Keep away from humidity and heat.

Shipping

Free shipping worldwide for any purchase over 100 euros after receipt of payment.
Possible customs fees and taxes depending on your country at your expense.
Hand-in for Paris possible after receipt of funds.

Return and Refund Policy

Despite the photos and the description, which we hope are as accurate as possible, we know that the relationship to a jewel or a watch is above all physical. This is why we offer a possible return for 15 days, no question asked. The watch needs to be in the same mechanical and aesthetic condition it was sent in. Reimbursement within 5 days of receipt of the watch.

View full details

Passer aux informations produits
1 de 10

Cartier Tortue - Tout Or

Cartier Tortue - Tout Or

Prix habituel 8.500 EUR
Prix habituel Prix soldé 8.500 EUR
Vente Vendue
Taxes incluses. Frais d'expédition calculés à l'étape de paiement.

(Nous contacter par email pour acheter une montre par virement direct)

Our take (in English)

English version available. Please switch to English in the menu or at the bottom of this page.

L'ancêtre oubliée

Description

Partons d'un boîtier droit, par exemple celui de la Santos. Puis, arrondissons les angles, ajoutons de la féminité... Pas trop, pas jusqu'à arriver à une Baignoire. Restons dans un entredeux raffiné, ni trop féminin ni trop masculin, parfaitement Cartier. Voila l'équation qu'à sans doute essayé de résoudre Louis Cartier en 1912, année de sortie de la Tortue et de la Baignoire. 

Les codes de Cartier sont parfaitement respectés : l'échelle de minutes en chemin de fer, les chiffres romains noirs, les aiguilles bleuies et le cabochon de saphir.

Légèrement plus épaisse que le reste de la sélection "classique" chez Cartier, son diamètre contenu la maintient néanmoins dans des standards de discrétion. Le bracelet "grain-de-riz" fait tout le charme de cette Cartier Tortue. La montre précieuse que l'on porte presque comme un bijou, très confortable avec sa boucle déployante. La Cartier Tortue est rare, d'autant plus avec son bracelet tout or. 

Pourquoi Françoise l’a-t-elle choisie ?

La Tortue est un modèle emblématique de Cartier, une des 3 premières montres bracelets dessinées par la Maison. Elle possède le record de longévité dans la collection Cartier, puisqu'elle n'en est presque jamais sortie, le dernier modèle ayant été dévoilé lors de l'événement Watches and Wonders 2024. Et pourtant, Françoise la trouve "oubliée" de la plupart des collectionneurs. Elle aime particulièrement l'entre-deux de son dessin : entre la sévérité d'une Tank et la féminité d'une Baignoire. 

Histoire

La Santos Dumont en 1907 fut la première montre-bracelet Cartier, soit une petite révolution pour l'horlogerie. En 1912, sortaient des ateliers Cartier à Paris la Tortue, inspirée de l'animal du même nom, et la Baignoire. Accrochez-vous bien, nous sommes avant la sortie de la première Tank (Tank Normale) en 1917 ! La Tortue connut une nouvelle heure de gloire dans les années 1930, quand elle abrita des mouvements plus complexes (comme un chronographe monopoussoir ou une répétition minute). Presque jamais discontinuée, c'est sans doute le modèle Cartier avec la plus grande longévité. 

Dimensions

Dimensions (avec cornes) : 22,8 x 30,5 mm
Épaisseur : 5,5 mm
Tour de poignet (approximatif) : 14 cm

Matériaux

Boîtier et bracelet "grain de riz" en or jaune 18 carats.

Conseils d'utilisation

Mouvement mécanique à remontage manuel, révisé et garanti 1 an. À garder à l'abri de l'humidité et de la chaleur.

Envoi

Envoi gratuit dans le monde entier pour tout achat supérieur à 100 euros après réception du paiement.
Eventuels frais de douane et taxes en fonction du lieu de livraison des montres à votre charge.
Réception en main propre pour Paris possible après réception des fonds.

Politique de retour et remboursement

Malgré les photos et le descriptif qu’on espère les plus fidèles possible, nous savons que la relation à un bijou, une montre, est avant tout physique.
C’est pourquoi nous offrons un retour possible pendant 15 jours, no question asked, avec remboursement dans les 5 jours suivants la réception de la montre.
Il faut néanmoins que la montre soit dans un état esthétique et mécanique semblable à celui de son envoi.

Afficher tous les détails