Skip to product information
1 of 10

Van Cleef & Arpels bee brooch - c. 1950

Van Cleef & Arpels bee brooch - c. 1950

Regular price 13.000 EUR
Regular price Sale price 13.000 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

(Contact us to buy a watch via bank wire)

Our take

English version available. Please switch to English in the menu or at the bottom of this page.

“Bee” your precious choice

Description

Very beautiful and rare Van Cleef & Arpels brooch depicting a bee in 18 carat yellow gold. The head is composed of a ruby, the body of an emerald cabochon and the wings set with seven diamonds each.

The House of Van Cleef & Arpels has always made people dream with its poetic creations. This bee brooch is no exception. A historical piece from the 1950s, large size, easily found on period advertisements, often presented in a trio with two other small broaches. This one, of great finesse, is equipped with a very beautiful cabochon emerald.

Why did Françoise choose it?

Why abandon broaches? Françoise considers that the brooch should return to the forefront. For a very classic use, Françoise prefers a more original, diverted style. A brooch can be worn on the lapel of a jacket, of course, but why not pin it on a turtleneck, put it as a hair ornament, on the pleats of a garment, on the belt or even as a clasp on a zip? The uses are multiple and help to break the overly “old-fashioned” image that the brooch can have. Let your imagination be free!

History

The history of the House of Van Cleef & Arpels was born following the marriage of Estelle (Esther) Arpels, daughter of a precious stone merchant and Alfred Van Cleef, from a line of Belgian artisans and Dutch specialists in stone cutting. Charles, Louis and Julien Arpels, Estelle's brothers, quickly joined forces with their brother-in-law to give birth to Van Cleef & Arpels, a signature registered in 1906, the date on which the first boutique opened, at 22 Place Vendôme. The store still remains in the same location today.

The bestiary developed among jewelers, particularly from the 1950s. Clips are key pieces, particularly in the form of small animals: bees, dogs, turtles, ladybugs, birds, cats, rabbits, etc. In 1954, Van Cleef & Arpels also offered a series of new humorous animal clips, called “Bestiaries” and inspired by cartoons. Less expensive jewelry presented at 22 Place Vendôme, “La Boutique”.

Dimensions

Material

18 carat yellow gold - diamonds - emerald cabochon - ruby ​​cabochon

Usage instructions

A piece of jewelry is precious, it requires special attention.
Emerald is a very fragile stone.

Shipping

Free shipping worldwide for any purchase over 100 euros after receipt of payment.
Possible customs fees and taxes depending on the place of delivery of the pieces at your expense.
Reception in person for Paris possible after receipt of funds.

Return and Refund Policy

Despite the photos and the description which we hope are as accurate as possible, we know that the relationship with a piece of jewelry, a watch, is above all physical.
This is why we offer a 15-day return, no question asked, with a refund within 5 days of receipt of the piece.
The piece needs to be in the same mechanical and aesthetic condition it was sent in.

View full details

Passer aux informations produits
1 de 10

Van Cleef & Arpels broche abeille - v. 1950

Van Cleef & Arpels broche abeille - v. 1950

Prix habituel 13.000 EUR
Prix habituel Prix soldé 13.000 EUR
Vente Vendue
Taxes incluses. Frais d'expédition calculés à l'étape de paiement.

(Nous contacter par email pour acheter une montre par virement direct)

Our take (in English)

English version available. Please switch to English in the menu or at the bottom of this page.

"Bee" your precious choice

Description

Très belle et rare broche Van Cleef & Arpels figurant une abeille en or jaune 18 carats. La tête est composée d'un rubis, le corps d'un cabochon d'émeraude et les ailes serties de sept diamants chacune. 

La Maison Van Cleef & Arpels a toujours fait rêver par ses créations empruntes de poésie. Cette broche abeille n'y fait pas exception. Une pièce historique des années 1950, grande taille, que l'on retrouve facilement sur des publicités d'époque, souvent présentée en trio avec deux autres petites broches. Celle-ci, d'une grande finesse de réalisation, est pourvue d'une très belle émeraude en cabochon. 

Pourquoi Françoise l’a-t-elle choisie ?

Pourquoi délaisser les broches ? Françoise considère que la broche devrait revenir sur le devant de la scène. À un usage très classique, Françoise lui préfère un porté plus original, détourné. Une broche peut être portée sur un revers de veste, certes, mais pourquoi ne pas l'épingler sur un col roulé, la mettre en ornement de cheveux, sur le plissé d'un vêtement, à la ceinture ou encore comme fermoir d'un zip ? Les usages sont multiples et permettent de casser l'image trop "démodée" que peut avoir la broche. Laissez libre cours à votre imagination !

Histoire

L’histoire de la Maison Van Cleef & Arpels est née à la suite du mariage d’Estelle (Esther) Arpels, fille d’un négociant en pierres précieuses et d’Alfred Van Cleef, issu d’une lignée d’artisans belges et hollandais spécialisés dans la taille de pierres. Charles, Louis et Julien Arpels, frères d’Estelle, se sont rapidement associés à leur beau-frère pour donner naissance à Van Cleef & Arpels, signature déposée en 1906, date à laquelle ouvre la première boutique, au 22 Place Vendôme. La boutique demeure encore aujourd’hui au même emplacement.

Le bestiaire se développe chez les joailliers, notamment à partir des années 1950. Les clips sont des pièces phares, notamment sous forme de petits animaux : abeilles, chiens, tortues, coccinelles, oiseaux, chats, lapins, etc. En 1954, Van Cleef & Arpels propose d'ailleurs une série de nouveaux clips animaliers humoristiques, désignés sous le nom de « Bestiaires » et inspirés des cartoons. Des bijoux moins onéreux présentés au 22 Place Vendôme, « La Boutique ». 

Dimensions

Matériaux

Or jaune 18 carats - diamants - cabochon d'émeraude - cabochon de rubis

Conseils d'utilisation

Un bijou est précieux, il demande une attention particulière.
L'émeraude est une pierre très fragile.

Envoi

Envoi gratuit dans le monde entier pour tout achat supérieur à 100 euros après réception du paiement.
Eventuels frais de douane et taxes en fonction du lieu de livraison des montres à votre charge.
Réception en main propre pour Paris possible après réception des fonds.

Politique de retour et remboursement

Malgré les photos et le descriptif qu’on espère les plus fidèles possible, nous savons que la relation à un bijou, une montre, est avant tout physique.
C’est pourquoi nous offrons un retour possible pendant 15 jours, no question asked, avec remboursement dans les 5 jours suivants la réception de la pièce.
Il faut néanmoins que la pièce soit dans un état esthétique et mécanique semblable à celui de son envoi.

Afficher tous les détails